Union Church at Dry Run

In 1830, Fort Valley resident Daniel Munch donated two acres of land to house a school and church. He required that the church be available for all Protestant denominations. The one room church building that was constructed there was made of locally fired red bricks and featured an upstairs gallery.

Over the next century, five different congregations used the church for their worship services. The last of these built their own building and departed the Union Church in 1949. After which the building became a community meeting place.

By 1972 the building was deteriorating due to a lack of use. That year the building’s trustees decided that the space should be used for a museum. They transferred ownership of the structure to the new Fort Valley Museum which opened on July 4, 1974.

Today the museum continues to gather, preserve, and showcase the history of the area. It maintains a wide variety of exhibits and hosts an annual ice cream social which attracts large crowds.

Images

Map