In 1777 public records show that a house on this lot was willed to Anthony Knicely’s wife upon his death. This is most likely the first reference to the structure that is now known as the Wickham House.

The original portion of this house is on the west side of the building. It was a two story affair that was built of log and featured two chimneys and four fire places. There was also a root cellar that was accessed through a door in the kitchen floor. Logs were used for the foundation which over time led to its destruction and eventual replacement by current the current limestone affair.

Around 1900 the house was drastically altered when a portion of the house was modernized, a bow window was added, and the front porch was constructed. These changes were facilitated by the decision of the Williams family to open a law office in the house. In the 1930s the house was again changed when a room was added to the rear of the house.

Long time Woodstock residents and community leader Edward “Dick” Wickham willed the house to the Woodstock Museum of Shenandoah County in 1989.

Since then, the museum has added a large number of artifacts and historic furniture to the house. Their exhibits include a spinning room, loom room, period bedchamber, and sitting room. The rear room features the large Baughman Collection of 18th century artifacts. They also interpret the house’s unique architectural features including distinctive front entrance doors, interesting hardware, 19th century windows with original blown glass, and an outhouse that was originally used at a county school.

Tours of the Wickham House are given upon request by Docents. The site is also open for special events.